Skip to content

Three poems by Elisa Grajeda-Urmston

July 3, 2010

Grasshopper in My Garden/Insomnia

Señor Chapulín serenades me
From his spot under the gardenias
Singing a duet with the hushed
Rustle of cottonwood trees

Together they tell me
About subterranean rivers and desert verbena
Feathers, beaks, droughts, and weevils
And I am here at a hopeless crossroad
Like a Delta bluesman
Clutching a Devil-tuned guitar

Stars and satellites float by
Light against the sueded night sky
The breeze rustles the curtains
From the French doors and
Reflected through the glass
The moon and the Milky Way
Make the white flowers glow
Until finally I drift

It is only then
That my lofty dreams emerge
Wings nibbled by moths

La Sirena

Here in this sea of
Smiles and hips and breasts
Moving in the musical currents
Scales and guitar strings
I lay myself bare before you
In the love songs I sing
Seduction
Over small talk and
Bar room brawls
Smoke and clatter
Cheap perfume
And
Sexy chatter
Calling to you
In midnight blues
Cumbia and hip-hop too
I hope it wasn’t my songs
That made you become
That Sig-alert I passed
As I drove home
Alone in the rain
On the
Ventura
Freeway
At 2:30 last
Saturday morning

In An Orange County Bar

I
Play guitar
From downbeat to last call
Perfect smiles and party dresses
Crowd the dance floor
And again
The ritual of the
Lonely
Plays out
While I
Play on
Almost Mexican me
This circus freak
With my God-given
Talent
God-given breasts
And
God-given face
In a sea of
Botox and Silicon
Barbielandia
Confusing my pulse with the
Straight-eight beat
My heart stopping with the end of each song
I don’t know where I begin and
They leave off
I am okay
As long as I’m
Nothing
But time signature and melody
And all I have to feel
Is the beat
It’s no-tell motel time
The bouncer shouts
You don’t have to go home, but you
Can’t
Stay
Here.

Elisa Grajeda-Urmston is an artist/musician currently working on her MFA in poetry at California State University, in San Bernardino (CSUSB), and has worked as a vocalist and guitarist in bands that have played most major venues in Las Vegas, Reno, Laughlin, as well as Disney productions. She is currently the front person for the band Caliente. Elisa is a native southern Californian, originally from the San Diego community of La Mesa.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 3, 2010 11:46 am

    Nice.

    It all comes together

Leave a Reply

