Skip to content

Limpia for Walking into Clear Campos

October 11, 2009

from Notebooks of a Chile Verde Smuggler by Juan Felipe Herrera

Limpia for Walking into Clear Campos
Winter, Carbondale, Illinois, late February, 1993

Step ahead, be careful—the ice,
you can slip.

Unloosen, breathe. Remember to breathe deep.
Unloosen. Swing to an easy beat.
Let your jacket become light, the sweet light
from the floating leaves of winter.
Sing to yourself. Follow the naked trees.
Sing

I drop my burdens,
from my feet that guide them
I drop my burdens
from my ankles that turn them
I drop my burdens
from my calves that cup them
I drop my burdens
from my knees that rock them
I drop my burdens
from my thighs that run them
I drop my burdens
from my hips that churn them
I drop my burdens
from my sex that heats them
I drop my burdens
from my belly that smoothes them
I drop my burdens
from my ombligo that ties them
I drop my burdens
from the small of my back that cradles them
I drop my burdens
from my cintura that dances them
I drop my burdens
from my ribs that cage them
I drop my burdens
from my breasts that nourish them
I drop my burdens
from my mid-back that protects them
I drop my burdens
from my shoulder blades that build them
I drop my burdens
I drop my burdens
from my upper arms that wrap them
I drop my burdens
from my elbows that swing them
I drop my burdens
from my forearms that caress them
I drop my burdens
from my wrists that pull them
I drop my burdens
from my hands that grasp them
I drop my burdens
from my fists that defend them
I drop my burdens
from my fingers that find them
I drop my burdens
from my neck that balances them
I drop my burdens
from my head that circles them
I drop my burdens
from my forehead that honors them
I drop my burdens
from my eyes that picture them
I drop my burdens
from my nose that breathes them
I drop my burdens
from my face that covers them
I drop my burdens
from my lips that invite them
I drop my burdens
from my mouth that savors them
I drop my burdens
from my voice that soothes them
I drop my burdens
from my throat that swallows them
I drop my burdens
from my heart that lives them
I drop my burdens
from my lungs that fill them
I drop my burdens
from my stomach that knots them
I drop my burdens
from this body that holds them.
I drop my burdens.
I drop my burdens.
As I walk, I drop my burdens.
As I walk, I melt with the snow.


2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2009 10:18 am

    Excellent! And what’s not to love about Juan Felipe Herrera?! Thanks for posting.

  2. AO permalink*
    October 14, 2009 4:47 pm

    Thank you Morena, and welcome to the blog.

Leave a Reply

