Skip to content

Premio Aztlán Literary Prize

November 20, 2008

The Premio Aztlan Literary Award has moved from the University of New Mexico to the National Hispanic Cultural Center. The Premio Aztlán is a national award, established to encourage and reward emerging Chicana and Chicano authors. Renowned author, Rudolfo Anaya and his wife, Patricia, founded Premio Aztlán in 1993.

Carlos Vásquez, at The History and Literary Arts National Hispanic Cultural Center in Albuquerque, New Mexico, especially encourages submissions from Texas authors and Texas presses.

Contact him at (505) 246-2261 ext. 123 for further details.

This year’s the award and lecture will be given at the National Latino Writers Conference, May 21-23, 09.
• Literary prize is for a work of fiction (novels and collections of short stories) published within the calendar year.
• Authors must have published not more than two books.
• Entries must be the work of living authors.
• Edited works, self-published books or manuscripts in process are not accepted.
• No poetry, children or young adult literature will be considered.
• Recipient must be present to receive the award and is expected to give a lecture.
• Deadline for submission is January 30, 2009.

Past prize recipients include:
Veronica Gonzalez
Reyna Grande
Gene Guerín
Mary Helen Lagasse
Sergio Troncoso
Ronald Ruíz
Wendell Mayo
Norma Cantú
Alicia Gaspar de Alba

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: