Skip to content

Ron Arias: Notebooks a family obsession

September 1, 2008

As near as I can tell, my writing habit began more than a hundred years ago on a cattle ranch in northern Mexico. That was when my grandmother, at seven years of age, wrote three words in a little notebook her mother, Cristina Terrazas, had given her: hoy murio mama. No capital H, no accent marks, no other details–little Julia Terrazas simply wanted to record that her mother had just died.

I was googling stuff on THE ROAD TO TAMAZUNCHALE when I discovered Moleskinerie.com, where Ron Arias published this short essay on how he came to writing (2005). Read the rest HERE.

Ron Arias (born November 20, 1941) is a highly regarded Chicano writer whose novel The Road to Tamazunchale has been called “one of the founding texts in Contemporary Chicano/a Literature.” He is also a retired senior writer and correspondent for People magazine.

More about Arias at Wikipedia

2 Comments leave one →
  1. ron arias permalink
    October 11, 2008 9:10 pm

    Dear Xican@ Poetry Daily: Thanks for running this piece. One of my favorites because I get to throw some flowers to the writing women in my family.
    Also, I just want to correct something that whoever wrote the Wikepedia entry got wrong. I retired from People magazine and mainstream journalism almost two years ago. Now I get to work and re-work reality my way and not to fit someone else’s style and format.
    I like your site, by the way.
    Cuídense,
    -Ron Arias

  2. anisa permalink*
    October 14, 2008 1:42 pm

    Thank you Mr. Arias. I loved this piece on keeping a notebook, particularly this short passage that connects you and your writing to your grandmother and hers. I also admire The Road to Tamazunchale, and your ability to “rework reality” as you do. It was/is a fantastic journey.

Leave a Reply

