Skip to content

Mármol Prize for Latina/o First Fiction

August 31, 2008

Deadline: December 31, 2008

The Mármol Prize for a first work of fiction in English by a Latina/o writer that reflects a respect for intercultural understanding and fosters an appreciation for human rights and civil liberties. Entrants who have previously had poetry or nonfiction works published in book form are eligible. Only submissions of book-length novels or collections of stories are eligible.

The winner of the prize will be published by Curbstone Press and receive a $1,000 advance against royalties.

To enter, send a typed double-spaced manuscript and $15.00 entry fee by December 31, 2008 to Mármol Prize, Curbstone Press, 321 Jackson Street, Willimantic, CT 06226. The winner will be announced in March 2009 and the manuscript published in the spring of 2010. Manuscripts will not be returned unless accompanied by a self-addressed, stamped envelope (SASE). All entrants will receive a copy of the winning book when it is published.

Previous prize winners

2008: Toni Margarita Plummer – The Desert in Green and Other Stories
2007: Annecy Baez – My Daughter’s Eyes and Other Stories
2006: No Winner
2005: Sylvia Torti – The Scorpion’s Tail
2004: Mary Helen Lagasse – The Fifth Sun
2003: Carla Trujillo – What Night Brings
2002: Lorraine Lopez – Soy La Avon Lady and Other Stories

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: