Skip to content

VI of Assorted Poems

July 6, 2008

Like the man said, “Nowadays I ain’t paying too much
attention
to poets and presidents…”, etc
Like I said, I’m paying too goddamn much attention to myself!
Knowing full well that a man can’t write verse
on a belly full of beer
no more than fish can swim
in oil or lard
nevertheless I sit and swivel sandlike particles
and molecules with Bud Shank
from Azusa,
California… Hoping that you will join me
in the desecration of this temple

I once read lots of things
that went to my head,
e.g.,
The Beatles is Bob Dylan
in drag,
&
God ain’t dead
he just doesn’t want to get
involved.
Which kind of pissed me off
because that same guy told
me that not one bird falls
without him knowing, etc.

Well, hell, let’s get these
things straight!

The reason most experts’
opinions aren’t taken
as given
is because they’re
too
cocksure.

So…
Here’s a whishy-
washie
for you:
Where is Andy-
W? (For that matter, where is W?)

Oscar “Zeta” Acosta

This poem was taken from Oscar “Zeta” Acosta: The Uncollected Works (1996) published by Arte Público Press.
Acosta (April 8, 1935 – 1974?) was a Chicano attorney, writer, politician and activist. He is most famously known as “Dr. Gonzo” in Hunter S. Thompson‘s book, Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

